Staff Directory

Contact Information and Portfolio Summary

 

Main Tel: 202-482-4981

 

LCDR Wendy Lewis

Director
wendy.lewis@noaa.gov

Tanya Dobrzynski

Deputy Director
Tanya.Dobrzynski@noaa.gov
(Contact for general questions)


Tribal Relations

 

Linda Belton

NOAA Tribal Liaison
Tel: 202-482-5447
Linda.Belton@noaa.gov
Tribal Relations - consultations, communication, and outreach.


Atmospheric Team

 

Matthew Borgia

Congressional Affairs Specialist
Tel: 202-482-4981
Matthew.Borgia@noaa.gov
National Weather Service (NWS) – all weather-related issues, including: hurricanes & tropical storms; tornadoes & severe storms; winter storms; fire weather; space weather; tsunamis; and forecasts, warnings, alerts, and outlooks.

 

Mackenzie Solomon [currently on maternity leave]

Congressional Affairs Specialist
Tel: 202-482-2497
mackenzie.solomon@noaa.gov
Office of Oceanic and Atmospheric Research (OAR) – including climate science, ocean exploration and research, ocean acidification, air quality research, invasive species, Sea Grant, and drought research.

 

Sierra Jones

Congressional Affairs Specialist
Tel: 202-482-6140
Sierra.Jones@noaa.gov
National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service (NESDIS) – satellite issues and data, including GOES, POES and the Joint Polar Satellite System (JPSS).


Oceans Team

Michael Jarvis

Congressional Affairs Specialist
Tel: 202-482-3595
Michael.Jarvis@noaa.gov
National Ocean Service (NOS) – including mapping and charting, geodesy, oil spill response, natural resource damage assessment and restoration, marine debris, harmful algal blooms, hypoxia, operational oceanographic products and services, and integrated ocean observing system. 

 

Makeda Okolo

Congressional Affairs Specialist
Tel: 202-482-1284
Makeda.Okolo@noaa.gov
National Ocean Service (NOS) -  including National Marine Sanctuaries, National Estuarine Research Reserve System (NERRS), Digital Coast, coastal zone management, coral reef conservation, coastal and estuarine land conservation, and marine protected areas. 

 

Fisheries Team

 

Craig Woolcott

Congressional Affairs Specialist
Tel: 202-482-7940
Craig.Woolcott@noaa.gov
National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) – Northeast, Mid-Atlantic, and Great Lakes Regions, and international fisheries.

 

Christopher Holmes

Congressional Affairs Specialist
Tel: 202-482-2272
Christopher.Holmes@noaa.gov
National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) – South Atlantic, Gulf of Mexico, Caribbean, and Alaska Regions.

Alexis Gutierrez

Congressional Affairs Specialist (detailee)
Tel: 202-482-3622
Alexis.Gutierrez@noaa.gov 
National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) – West Coast and Pacific Islands Regions

 

Marine and Aviation Operations

 

Becky Cruz Lizama

Congressional Affairs Specialist
Tel: 202-482-0809
Becky.Lizama@noaa.gov
Office of Marine and Aviation Operations (OMAO) – including fleet modernization, aircraft services, and the NOAA Commissioned Officer Corps.

 

Intergovernmental Affairs

 

Linda Belton

Senior Policy Advisor
Tel: 202-482-5447
Linda.Belton@noaa.gov
Intergovernmental Affairs - state, tribal, and community-level outreach.

 

Legislative Team

Chris Hayes

Legislative Affairs Specialist
Tel: 202-482-1284
Chris.Hayes@noaa.gov

 

Velna L. Bullock

Legislative Affairs Analyst
Tel: 202-482-5833
Velna.L.Bullock@noaa.gov
Congressional Events Report, mandated Congressional Reports, Legislative Referral Memorandums (LRMs), NOAA's Membership Outreach Database (MOD), NOAA grants, and special legislative projects.

 

Fellows and Scholars

 

Melanie Jackson

Knauss Sea Grant Fellow

Congressional testimony, Questions for the Record (QFRs), hearing transcripts, Legislative Referral Memorandums (LRMs), presidential proclamations, views letters, and enrolled bill letters.
Tel: 202-482-5111
Melanie.Jackson@noaa.gov

 

Administrative Team

 

Jenell Wildgoose

Administrative Support Assistant
Tel: 202-482-4981
Jenell.C.Wildgoose@noaa.gov
WebCims correspondence and administrative tasks for Legislative Affairs.